You have completed your assessor and/or moderator course and have received your certificate and your SoR. What now?
This is a question that many newly qualified assessors and moderators ask.
The best way to answer this is to look at the difference between being certified or qualified and being registered.

Certified or qualified assessor or moderator
This means that you have attended the training for the assessor or moderator unit standards and have been found competent. Your results would have been verified and you would have received a certificate of competence and a Statement of Results (SoR) from the Education Training and Development Practices (ETDP) SETA to prove that you have been awarded the credits for these unit standards.
You are now a qualified assessor or moderator. This is a generic and thus applicable to all fields of learning.

Registered assessor or moderator
In order to work as an assessor or moderator you now need to register with a Quality Assurance body (ETQA) or a number of ETQAs to become a constituent registered assessor or moderator. You will have to register for specific unit standards and qualifications within your field of expertise.
There are thus further requirements that you need to meet. You need to be able to prove the following:
• You are a certified or qualified assessor or moderator
• You have subject matter expertise in the field you wish to assess or moderate
It is quite easy to prove that you are a qualified assessor or moderator. All you need is the SoR and of course you could add your certificate as well.
To prove subject matter expertise, you need to prove that you have the required knowledge and experience in the specific field you want to assess or moderate. As a rule of thumb for all ETQAs you need to have:
• A qualification on the same level or at least one level higher than the level you wish to assess or moderate
• Experience in the field. (Some ETQAs require you to have at least thee years’ experience in the specific field for NQF level 1 to 4 and five years’ experience for NQF level 5 and upwards. Not all ETQAs are that prescriptive)

How does the registration process work?
You need to identify the registered unit standard/s or qualification/s you wish to assess or moderate. Make a list of the SAQA ID numbers and titles of the unit standards and qualifications.

Then determine who the relevant ETQA is that quality assures these unit standards or qualifications. The ETQA would be the quality assurance department of a SETA or professional body. You can obtain a list of these ETQA bodies, their contact numbers and website addresses from the SAQA website.

Consult the website or contact the ETQA for their application for registration document and the requirements for registration. Some of the SETAs may require you to complete an online application, while others may require you to complete and submit hard copies of registration application documents and others may even require you to register through an accredited training provider.

Prepare your CV to reflect your experience within the specific field.

Ensure that you have certified copies of the following documents:
• ID
• Qualifications and Statements of Results or Academic Transcripts
• Any other supportive documents that could prove your subject matter expertise

Once you have all these documents, ensure that you have them available electronically in case you have to submit them on line.

You should now be ready to register.

Please remember. You will not be able to register as a moderator unless you are a qualified and registered assessor. Thus should you wish to register as a moderator you will need to supply a certified copy of your:
• Assessor and Moderator SoR
• Assessor registration
• Evidence that you have experience in assessment

Remember the registration can be a lengthy process, but you cannot assess or moderate for the award of credits unless you are a registered assessor.

Upon registration you will receive a registration document with your registration number and the scope of your assessment or moderation. You will note as well that the registration is valid for a period of three years after which you have to re-register.
You could extend your scope of registration at any time to include additional unit standards or qualifications and of course you could register with more that one ETQA. The onus is on you to prove your subject matter expertise in the different fields.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This